Officially been a year, I’m absolutely in love

Three reasons why I love my job

Soo Min Jeong
2 min readFeb 6, 2019

I name things

It did surprise me to find out the most difficult job for developers: naming things. Coding is a journey of ‘divide and conquer’. We split a huge project into pieces and tell little minions to get those pieces done. Unfortunately yet unsurprisingly, these minions need names. Sometimes, names pop out of code. As a developer and entrepreneur, I have named quite a few things — a feature, a service, or even a company.

Hey, you. No, not you. Not you, again!

I am not an artist; yet, I create things. Putting a little name tag makes me feel like giving birth to it. What kind of career would get you to name hundreds of things a day? A developer’s life shall do.

It’s okay to be idle

I’m not diligent, and for the first time in my life, I am not ashamed of it. Whenever I see an inefficient process of a project, it becomes my job. Every tiny mishap gives me a good reason to get back to my laptop and start coding. (Then the agony of naming haunts me again)

The input Steve Jobs loved.

If you are lucky enough, your laziness will lead you to a good point of pain. “I can’t reach the button with my thumb and don’t blame my short fingers. They are fine.” I do not need numbers or charts to convince the UX designers. I am good at being idle, and they agree with me.

I don’t mind somebody looking at my screen

It was a compliment when I said it looked cool to a designer. Well, at least I thought so. Her visualization skill led me to understand what she was doing within a few seconds. After a while, I realized that it could bother designers that someone was watching their screen behind.

When losing a battle, make your screen darker

Compared to designers, it takes a little longer to see what a developer is doing in a short time. I sit on an aisle at my office, but nobody tries to look into my screen (one exception: my boss). Another 10 points to my job.

--

--